The Sword Inn Gloucester
Only the left-hand building currently occupied by The Sword Inn Gloucester was originally a pub, known as The Sword by 1680.
It became The Union by 1847 and probably refers to the Acts of Union with Ireland. The pub was extended into the next door building in 1990.
This building was once the workshop of a tailor called John Pritchard, who inspired Beatrix Potter’s story The Tailor of Gloucester. She was visiting the area in 1897 and heard the tale of a waistcoat that was mysteriously completed over the weekend.
The pub was therefore re-named the Tailor’s House for a time but reverted to The Union in 2003 before becoming Molly's Bar in 2014 and now The Sword Inn Gloucester.
Share your view of The Sword Inn Gloucester on Instagram, Twitter or Facebook & use #GlosTour
Previous6. Fountain Inn
What's Next8. College Court & St Michael's Gate
Estimated time: 1 minute
Find out how to get from The Sword Inn Gloucester to the next location:Get Directions