City Centre Tour 6. Molly's Bar Public House

Only the left-hand building currently occupied by Molly’s Bar was originally a pub, known as The Sword by 1680.

It became The Union by 1847 and probably refers to the Acts of Union with Ireland. The pub was extended into the next door building in 1990.

This building was once the workshop of a tailor called John Pritchard, who inspired Beatrix Potter’s story The Tailor of Gloucester. She was visiting the area in 1897 and heard the tale of a waistcoat that was mysteriously completed over the weekend.

The pub was therefore re-named the Tailor’s House for a time, but reverted to The Union in 2003 before becoming Molly's Bar in 2014.

#GlosTour

Share your view of Molly's Bar Public House on instagram, twitter or facebook & use #GlosTour

Location

Longitude and latitude for Molly's Bar Public House: 51.866239,-2.247682

What's Next...

Estimated time: 1 minute

Find out how to get from Molly's Bar Public House to the next location
Get directions
Opens Apple Maps for iOS or Google Maps for other devices